Skip to main content

Architecture: Citations

Chicago Manual of Style 17th Edition (2017)

Chicago Notes and Bibliography Style                               Buphoff, Chicago Skyline, 2006, Chicago, IL, Wikimedia Commons(CC BY-SA 3.0)

Citation information (if applicable):

  • Author (Architect/Artist)
  • Title
  • Journal/Book Title
  • Book Edition/Journal Volume
  • Editors/Translators
  • Publisher and Publication Date
  • URL or Database Name
    • Date accessed or modified
  • Page Numbers

Additional image citation information:

  • Location of Image
  • Size (dimensions) [optional]
  • Medium [optional]

Book - One Author

Footnote/Endnote

11.Rem Koolhaas, Delirious New York. (New York: Monacelli Press, 1994), page #s.

Bibliography

Koolhaas, Rem. Delirious New York: a retroactive manifesto for Manhattan. New York: Monacelli Press, 1994.

 

Book - Multiple Authors

Footnote/Endnote

7.James T. Davis and James C. Watkins, Architectural delineation: presentation techniques and projects (Dubuque, Iowa: Kendall/Hunt, 2001), page #s.

Bibliography

Davis, James T., and James C. Watkins. Architectural delineation: presentation techniques and projects. Dubuque, Iowa: Kendall/Hunt, 2001.

 

Where do you find the information for your citation?

  1. Title page and verso (back of title page) OR
  2. Catalog record

1. Title page and verso

Title Page                                                                               Verso

2. Catalog record screenshot

Article in Print Journal

Footnote/Endnote

5.Karrie Jacobs, “Julia Morgan posthumously awarded the AIA 2014 Gold Metal,” Architect (Washington, D.C.) 103, no.1 (2014): 28.

Bibliography

Jacobs, Karrie. “Julia Morgan posthumously awarded the AIA 2014 Gold Metal.” Architect (Washington, D.C.) 103, no.1 (2014): 28.

 

Article in E-Journal

Footnote/Endnote

16.Deborah Howard, “Venice between East and West: Marc’Antonio Barbaro and Palladio’s Church of the Redentore,” Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians 62, no.3 (September 2003): 306-325, accessed July 12, 2018, https://www.jstor.org/stable/3592517

Bibliography

Howard, Deborah. “Venice between East and West: Marc’Antonio Barbaro and Palladio’s Church of the Redentore.” Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians 62, no.3 (September 2003): 306-325. Accessed July 12, 2018. https://www.jstor.org/stable/3592517

Images used in your course papers, presentations and posters should be cited/attributed either in captionsendnotes or footnotes.

Information You Need for Image Citations/Attributions/Credits:

  • Creator (typically architect(s)/firm, if known)
  • Title (Name of building or a description)
  • Date (typically the date of creation)
  • Location (if citing a photograph/building)
  • Citation Information for where you found the image:
    • IF Website: article author, article title, website name, URL
    • IF Image Database: Database Name
    • IF Journal Article: article author, article title, volume, issue, date, page number.
    • IF Book: book author, book title, (editors if needed), publisher city, publisher, date, page number
  • Optional but good practice: Image Credit/Photo Credit/Image Source: photographer (if citing a photograph/building) or other rights holder

Image in a Print Book

Figure Caption:

Fig. 1. Hans Hollein, Abteilberg Museum, Monchengladbach, 1972-82, Monchengladbach, in Sir Banister Fletcher's A History of Architecture. 19th ed., ed. John Musgrove (London: Butterworths, 1987), 1355A.

Figure and Endnote/Footnote:

Fig. 1. Photograph of Abteilberg Museum, Monchengladbach by architect Hans Hollein, 1972-82.1

John Musgrove, ed., Sir Banister Fletcher's A History of Architecture. 19th ed., (London: Butterworths, 1987), 1355A..

Image in a Print Journal

Figure Caption:

Fig. 2. Longitudinal section, [2007?], Soria, Spain, in "Mansilla+Tuñón Institutional Building for Environmental City of Soria," GA Document 103, (2008), 62.

Figure and Endnote/Footnote:

Fig. 2. Longitudinal section for institutional building in Soria, Spain by architecture firm Mansilla+Tuñón, building proposed in 2007 2

2  Mansilla+Tuñón Institutional Building for Environmental City of Soria," GA Document 103, (2008), 62.

Image in a Database Journal Article

Figure Caption:

Fig. 3. Concept diagram of low stiffness DSF connectors with damping mechanism, in Kyong Sun Moon, "Tall Building Motion Control Using Double Skin Facades," Journal of Architectural Engineering 15, no. 3 (September 2009), 85, fig. 2, Academic Search Premier.

Figure and Endnote/Footnote:

Fig. 3. Concept diagram of low stiffness DSF connectors with damping mechanism3

3  Kyong Sun Moon, "Tall Building Motion Control Using Double Skin Facades," Journal of Architectural Engineering 15, no. 3 (September 2009), 85, fig. 2, Academic Search Premier.

Image from ARTSTOR


 

Figure Caption:

Fig. 4. Adolf Loos, Section DD of Josephine Baker House, 1928, ARTstor. Image Source:Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library. 

Figure and Endnote/Footnote:

Fig. 4. Section DD of the Josephine Baker House by Adolf Loos showing the first floor4

Adolf Loos, Section DD of Josephine Baker House, 1928, ARTstor. Image Source: Avery/GSAPP Architectural Plans and Sections.

Alternate Example:

Fig. 12. Dahar el-Omar and Hajj Yusuf. Sea Mosque / El Bahri Mosque, 1702, Tiberias, Israel, Artstor. Image Credit: Shmuel Magal.

Image from TTU Architecture Image Collections


   

Figure Caption:

Fig. 5. Khane-ye Ghazviniha, 18th-19th Century, Esfahan, Iran, TTU Arch Design Images. Image Credit: Saif Haq.

Figure and Endnote/Footnote:

Fig. 5.View of southern side and part of the courtyard of Khane-ye Ghazviniha.5

Khane-ye Ghazviniha, 18th-19th Century, Esfahan, Iran, TTU Arch Design Images. Image Credit: Saif Haq.

Image from a Website

Figure Caption:

 Fig. 6. Galera Estudio, Wanka House, 2011, Carilo, Argentina, ArchDaily, February 7, 2013, Photo Credit: Diego Medina https://www.archdaily.com/329627/wanka-house-galera-estudio

Figure and Endnote/Footnote:

 Fig. 6. Galera Estudio, Wanka House, 2011, Carilo, Argentina, Photo Credit: Diego Medina.6

Galera Estudio, "Wanka House," ArchDaily, February 7, 2013, https://www.archdaily.com/329627/wanka-house-galera-estudio

Standards/Codes Information needed for Foot/EndNotes and Bibliography:
  • Name of the organization 
  • Title of the standard (in italics)
  • An edition or other identifying number or label
  • Publication information
  • Standards Accessed online should include URL or Database.

In the foot/endnotes, standards are cited by title; in a bibliography, alphabetize under the group or organization.

Standard in MADCAD

Footnote/Endnote

5. 2018 International Code Council Performance Code for Buildings and Facilities. [BS] 501.3.4 (Country Club Hills, IL: International Code Council, August 31, 2017), MADCAD.19.

Bibliographic

International Code Council. 2018 International Code Council Performance Code for Buildings and Facilities. [BS] 501.3.4. Country Club Hills, IL:                ICC, August 31, 2017. MADCAD.


Map Information needed for Foot/EndNotes and Bibliography:
  • Cartographer (if known)
  • Title of Map (in Italics) or descriptions
  • Scale and Size (if known)
  • Publication Details or Location of Map

Online Map

Figure Caption:

Fig. 7 Map showing lots on 31st Street between Aberdeen Ave. and Bangor, detail from City of Lubbock, Texas, Row Sectional Map 138: Base Map 39, Block Section E2-5, August 2, 2017, 1:1,200 scale, City of Lubbock, Texas, accessed February 5, 2018, http://ewebmap.ci.lubbock.tx.us/rowmaps/row%20sm0138.pdf

Figure and Endnote/Footnote:

Fig. 7. Map showing lots on 31st Street between Aberdeen Ave. and Bangor, Lubbock, TX from August 2, 2017.7

City of Lubbock, Texas, Row Sectional Map 138: Base Map 39, Block Section E2-5, August 2, 2017, 1:1,200 scale, City of Lubbock, Texas, accessed February 5, 2018, http://ewebmap.ci.lubbock.tx.us/rowmaps/row%20sm0138.pdf

Bibliographic Entry:

City of Lubbock, Texas. Row Sectional Map 138: Base Map 39, Block Section E2-5. August 2, 2017. 1:1,200 scale. City of Lubbock, Texas,;accessed February 5, 2018. http://ewebmap.ci.lubbock.tx.us/rowmaps/row%20sm0138.pdf

Newspaper

Footnote/Endnote

3. Michael Geczi, "Architect Promises Cityplace will Alter Dallas," Dallas Morning News (Dallas, TX), Oct. 26, 1983, Dallas Morning News Historical. 

Bibliography

Geczi, Michael. "Architect Promises Cityplace will Alter Dallas," Dallas Morning News (Dallas, TX), Oct. 26, 1983, Dallas Morning News Historical. 

Archival Materials

City of Lubbock. Water System, 1910-1947, Lubbock County Historical Commission Collection. Southwest Collection/Special Collections Library. Texas Tech University Libraries. 

Webpage

 

Footnote/Endnote

7. The American Institute of Architects, “Innovation Awards,” Accessed June 29, 2018, https://www.aia.org/awards/7406-aia-tap-innovation-awards-program.

Bibliograpy

The American Institute of Architects. “Innovation Awards.” Accessed June 29, 2018. https://www.aia.org/awards/7406-aia-tap-innovation-awards-program.

Blog Post

Footnote/Endnote

11. Michael Maltazan Architecture, “Crest Apartments,” Projects (blog). ArchDaily, Accessed June 29, 2018, https://www.archdaily.com/897050/crest-apartments-michael-maltzan-architecture.

Bibliography

Michael Maltazan Architecture. “Crest Apartments.” Projects (blog). ArchDaily, Accessed June 29, 2018. https://www.archdaily.com/897050/crest-apartments-michael-maltzan-architecture.

Video and Film Recordings

3. My Architect, directed by Nathaniel Kahn (2003; New York, N.Y.: New Yorker Video, 2004), DVD. 

Kahn, Nathaniel, dir. My Architect. 2003; New York, N.Y.: New Yorker Video, 2004. DVD. 

Loading ...

Harvard Style of Referencing

harvard university panoramaHarvard Style of Referencing              Daderot, 2010. Radcliffe Yard, Harvard University-panorama [photograph] Available at:Wikimedia Commons [Accessed 28 November 2018].

Basic information you need to collect from sources:

  • Author(s)/editor(s)
  • Date of publication
  • Title
  • Edition (1st, 2nd, reprint ed. revised ed. etc.)
  • Page numbers (when applicable)
  • Place of publication / Publisher (for books)
  • Journal Title, Volume and issue numbers (for journal articles)
  • Web address or Database name and Date Accessed (if online)

Book – One Author

Koolhaas, R., 1994. Delirious New York. New York: Monacelli Press. 

 

Book – Multiple Authors

Davis, J. T. and Watkins, J. C., 2001. Architectural delineation: presentation techniques and projects. Dubuque, IA: Kendall/Hunt.

Article Citation (Journal – Print)

Jacobs, K., 2014. 'Julia Morgan posthumously awarded the AIA 2014 Gold Metal.' Architect (Washington, D.C.), 103 (1), p. 28.

 

Article Citation (E-Journal)

Howard, D., 2003. 'Venice between east and west: Marc’Antonio Barbaro and Palladio’s Church of the Redentore.' Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, [e-journal] 62(3). pp.306-325. Available at: <https://www.jstor.org/stable/3592517> [Accessed 12 July 2018].

Image in a Print Book

Figure Caption:

Fig. 1. Hans Hollein, 1972-82, Abteilberg Museum, Monchengladbach. Source: Musgrove, J, ed., 1987. Sir Bannister Flectcher's a history of architecture19th ed. London: Butterworths, fig.1355A.

OR

Figure Caption 

Fig. 1. Hans Hollein's Abteilberg Museum, Monchengladbach (1972-82). Source: (Musgrove, 1987, 1355A).

AND Bibliographic Entry:

Musgrove, J, ed., 1987. Sir Bannister Flectcher's a history of architecture. 19th ed. London: Butterworths.


Image in a Print Journal

Figure Caption:

Fig. 2. Mansilla+Tuñón, 2007, Longitudinal section, Institutional Building for Environmental City of Soria. Source: Mansilla+Tuñón. 2008 'Institutional Building for Environmental City of Soria,' GA Document, 103, p.62. 

OR

Figure Caption 

Fig. 2. Mansilla+Tuñón, 2007, Longitudinal section, Institutional Building for Environmental City of Soria. Source:(Mansilla+Tuñón, 2008, 62).

AND Bibliographic Entry: 

Mansilla+Tuñón. 2008 'Institutional Building for Environmental City of Soria,' GA Document, 103.


Image in a Database Journal Article

Figure Caption:

Fig. 3 Concept diagram of low stiffness DSF connectors with damping mechanism. Source: Moon, K.S., 2009. 'Tall building motion control using double skin facades.' Journal of Architectural Engineering, [e-journal] 15(3), p.85. Available through: Academic Search Premier.

OR

Figure Caption: 

Fig. 3. Concept diagram of low stiffness DSF connectors with damping mechanism. Source: (Moon, 2009, 85) 

AND Bibliographic Entry:

Moon, K.S., 2009. 'Tall building motion control using double skin facades.' Journal of Architectural Engineering, [e-journal] 15(3). Available through: Academic Search Premier.

 


Image from ARTSTOR

Figure Caption:

Fig. 4 Adolf Loos, 1928. Josephine Baker House. Source: Loos, A. 1928. Josephine Baker House [architectural drawing], Paris, France (Avery/GSAPP Architectural Plans and Sections). Available through: ARTstor. <library.artstor.org.lib-e2.lib.ttu.edu/asset/AWSS35953_35953_34648410> [Accessed 5 February 2018].

OR

Figure Caption:

Fig. 4. Adolf Loos, 1928. Josephine Baker House. Source: (Loos, 1928). 

AND Bibliographic Entry:

Loos, A. 1928. Josephine Baker House [architectural drawing], Paris, France. (Avery/GSAPP Architectural Plans and Sections). Available through: ARTstor, < [Accessed 5 Feb 2018].


Image from TTU Architecture Image Collections

Figure Caption:

Fig. 5. Eliel Saarinen, 1938-1942.  Cranbrook Museum of Art. Source: Saarinen, E., 1938-1942.  Cranbrook Museum of Art  [photograph], Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, (Archivision, Inc; photographer: Scott Gilchrist). Available through: TTU Architecture Image Collections <http://lib-wiki3.ttu.edu.lib-e2.lib.ttu.edu/wiki/index.php?title=Cranbrook_Museum_of_Art_1A1-SE-CA-M-A02.jpg> [Accessed 5 Feb 2018].

OR

Figure Caption:

Fig. 5. Eliel Saarinen, 1938-1942.  Cranbrook Museum of Art. Source: (Saarinen, 1938-1942).

AND Bibliographic Entry:

Saarinen, E., 1938-1942.  Cranbrook Museum of Art [photograph], Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, (Archivision, Inc; photographer: Scott Gilchrist).Available through: TTU Architecture Image Collections <http://lib-wiki3.ttu.edu.lib-e2.lib.ttu.edu/wiki/index.php?title=Cranbrook_Museum_of_Art_1A1-SE-CA-M-A02.jpg> [Accessed 5 Feb 2018].


Image from a Website

Works Cited Page:

Fig. 6 Atelierdacosta, 2015, Interior hallway of dental clinic, Canidelo, Portugal (Photographer: Tiago Casanova). Available at: 'Dental Clinic-Gaia/atelierdacosta.' ArchDaily Projects [blog], 10 October. <www.archdaily.com/774985/dental-clinic-gaia-atelier-da-costa-atelier-da-costa> [Accessed 5 Feb 2018].

OR

Figure Caption:

 Fig. 6. Atelierdacosta, 2015, Interior hallway of dental clinic, Canidelo, Portugal (Dental Clinic, 2015). 

AND Bibliographic Entry:

'Dental Clinic-Gaia/atelierdacosta.' ArchDaily Projects[blog], 10 October. Available at: <www.archdaily.com/774985/dental-clinic-gaia-atelier-da-costa-atelier-da-costa> [Accessed 5 Feb 2018].

Standard

Organization Name/Corporate author., Year. Identifying letters and numbers and full title of standard. [online] Place of Publication: Publisher. Available at: [Accessed date].

Example:

International Code Council, 2017. [BS] 501.3.4 Expected loads [online] Country Club Hills, IL: International Code Council Available at: MADCAD [Accessed 21 June 2018].

Online Map

Map publisher (origin), Year of issue. Title of map. Map Series, sheet number, scale. Source [online] Available at: <> [Accessed date]. 

Example:

City of Lubbock, Texas, 2017. Row Sectional Map 138, Base Map 39, Block Section E2-5, 1:1,200. City of Lubbock website [online] Available at: <http://ewebmap.ci.lubbock.tx.us/rowmaps/row%20sm0138.pdf> [Accessed 5 Feb 2018].

 

Figure Caption and Bibliographic entry for map reproduced in a source:

Fig. 7 Central Europe in the Renaissance period. Source: (Musgrove, 1987, p.977).  

Bibliographic Entry:

Musgrove, J, ed., 1987. Sir Bannister Fletcher's a history of architecture. 19th ed. London: Butterworths.

Newspaper

Geczi, M..1983. "Architect Promises Cityplace will Alter Dallas." Dallas Morning News, 26 Oct. p.D1.


Archival Materials

City of Lubbock. Water System, 1910-1947. Box 1, Folder 21. S599.2 Lubbock Country Historical Commission Collection. Southwest Collection/Special Collections Library, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, TX. 21 June 2018.

Webpage

The American Institute of Architects, 2018. Innovation awards. [online] Available at: <https://www.aia.org/awards/7406-aia-tap-innovation-awards-program> [Accessed 29 June 2018].

Blog

Michael Maltazan Architecture, 2018. Crest apartments. ArchDaily Projects, [blog] 28 June. Available at <https://www.archdaily.com/897050/crest-apartments-michael-maltzan-architecture> [Accessed 29 June 2018].    

Film or Video Recording

My architect, 2004. [DVD]. New York: New Yorker Video.

Loading ...

MLA 8th Edition (2016)

MLA Style  Irma and Paul Milstein Division of U.S. History, Local History & Genealogy, NYPL. "Terrace view, Central Park West" The NYPL Digital Collections1993. 

Basic MLA elements, omit any information that is not provided or not necessary:

1. Author. (If there is no author, do not use Anonymous or Unknown. Just start your citation with the title.)

2. Title of source.

Container 1:

  • 3. Title of container,
  • 4. Other contributors,
  • 5. Version,
  • 6. Number
  • 7. Publisher,
  • 8. Publication date,
  • 9. Location.

Container 2:

  • 3. Title of container,
  • 4. Other contributors,
  • 5. Version,
  • 6. Number
  • 7. Publisher,
  • 8. Publication date,
  • 9. Location.

 

Additional information you may want to include:

Previous Publications: If the image was previously published in other form, you should reference that by adding it as a container preceded by the phrase "Originally published in". 

Dates of Access: Online works can be edited or deleted without notice, so including the date you accessed it online can be helpful. Add "Accessed [date of access]." to the end of you citation. Example: Accessed 12 Jan. 2018.  

Multiple elements for a single entry: If there is more than one piece of information to go in a single entry area, use a forward slash to separate the multiple elements. Example: [Publisher 1]/[Publisher 2]

Book – One Author

Koolhaas, Rem. Delirious New York. Monacelli Press, 1994.

 

Book – Multiple Authors

Davis, James T. and James C. Watkins. Architectural delineation: presentation techniques and projects. Kendall/Hunt, 2001.

Article Citation (Journal – Print)

Jacobs, Karrie. “Julia Morgan posthumously awarded the AIA 2014 Gold Metal.” Architect (Washington, D.C.), vol. 103, no. 1, 2014, pp. 28.

 

Article Citation (E-Journal)

Online only

Howard, Deborah. “Venice between East and West: Marc’Antonio Barbaro and Palladio’s Church of the Redentore.” Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, vol. 62, no. 3, 2003, https://www.jstor.org/stable/3592517. Accessed 12 July 2018.

 

Phillips, Brian and Deb Katz. “Designing for Impact: Tools for Reducing Disparities in Health.” Architectural Design, vol. 88, no. 4, 2018, https://doi-org.lib-e2.lib.ttu.edu/10.1002/ad.2321. Accessed 16 July 2018.

 

Cohen, Nancy Eve. “When Hurricane Harvey Hit, the Texas Medical Center Stood Ready.” The BuildingGreen Report, vol. 27, no. 6, 2018. https://www-buildinggreen-com.lib-e2.lib.ttu.edu/sites/default/files/ebn/TBGR_27-06.pdf. Accessed 16 July 2018.

 

Print and Online

Howard, Deborah. “Venice between East and West: Marc’Antonio Barbaro and Palladio’s Church of the Redentore.” Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, vol. 62, no. 3, 2003, pp. 306-325, https://www.jstor.org/stable/3592517. Accessed 12 July 2018.

MLA Image Basics

Source = Image

Container(s)  = where you found the image

  • Images may have multiple layers of containers (think about an image contained in a journal article inside a database).

Images can be embedded into papers, slideshow presentations or posters.

  • In text, refer to the image with figure or fig. NOT capitalized and the Arabic numeral. Example: The plan of the Viipuri Library (fig.1)...
  • The images themselves should be labeled Figure or Fig capitalized with the Arabic numeral (Fig. 1.) followed by the source information for the images 
  • If you provide this source information with your images, you do not need to include it in the Works Cited page.
  • Citations for Figures differ from Works Cited page citations as the author/artist/architect is listed in First Name Last Name order and commas are used except for semicolons between containers.
Image in a Print Book

Works Cited Page:

Hollein, Hans. Abteilberg Museum, Monchengladbach. 1972-82. Sir Banister Fletcher's A History of Architecture. 19th ed., Edited by John Musgrove, Butterworths, 1987, p. 1355A.

Figure Caption:

Fig. 1. Hans Hollein, Abteilberg Museum, Monchengladbach, 1972-82; Sir Banister Fletcher's A History of Architecture. 19th ed., Edited by John Musgrove, Butterworths, 1987, p. 1355A.


Image in a Print Journal

Works Cited Page: 

Longitudinal section. 2007?, Soria, Spain. "Mansilla+Tuñón Institutional Building for Environmental City of Soria," GA Document, 103, 2008, p. 62.

Figure Caption:

Fig. 2. Longitudinal section. 2007?, Soria, Spain; "Mansilla+Tuñón Institutional Building for Environmental City of Soria," GA Document, 103, 2008, p. 62.


Image in a Database Journal Article

Works Cited Page:

Concept diagram of low stiffness DSF connectors with damping mechanism. "Tall Building Motion Control Using Double Skin Facades," by Kyong Sun Moon, Journal of Architectural Engineering, vol.15, no. 3, 2009. p. 85. Academic Search Premier. doi:10.1061/(ASCE)1076-0431(2009)15:3(84).

Figure Caption:

Fig. 3. Concept diagram of low stiffness DSF connectors with damping mechanism; "Tall Building Motion Control Using Double Skin Facades," by Kyong Sun Moon, Journal of Architectural Engineering, vol.15, no. 3, 2009. p. 85; Academic Search Premier. doi:10.1061/(ASCE)1076-0431(2009)15:3(84).


Image from ARTSTOR

Works Cited Page:

Loos, Adolf. Josephine Baker House. 1928, architectural drawing, Avery/GSAPP Architectural Plans and Sections. ARTstorlibrary.artstor.org.lib-e2.lib.ttu.edu/asset/AWSS35953_35953_34648410. Accessed 5 Feb 2018.

Figure Caption:

Fig. 4. Adolf Loos, Josephine Baker House, 1928, architectural drawing, Avery/GSAPP Architectural Plans and Sections; ARTstorlibrary.artstor.org.lib-e2.lib.ttu.edu/asset/AWSS35953_35953_34648410. Accessed 5 Feb 2018.


Image from TTU Architecture Image Collections

Works Cited Page:

Complex of Sultan Hassan Mosque. 14th Century, Cairo, Egypt. TTU Architecture Image Collectionslib-wiki3.ttu.edu.lib-e2.lib.ttu.edu/wiki/index.php?title=Complex_of_Sultan_Hassan_Mosque_31295009882399_600_1.jpg. Accessed 5 Feb 2018.

Figure Caption:

Fig. 5. Complex of Sultan Hassan Mosque, 14th Century, Cairo, Egypt; TTU Architecture Image Collectionslib-wiki3.ttu.edu.lib-e2.lib.ttu.edu/wiki/index.php?title=Complex_of_Sultan_Hassan_Mosque_31295009882399_600_1.jpg. Accessed 5 Feb 2018.


Image from a Website

Works Cited Page:

Casanova, Tiago. Photograph of interior hallway of dental clinic by atelierdacosta. 2015, Canidelo, Portugal. "Dental Clinic-Gaia/atelierdacosta," ArchDaily, 10 October, 2015, www.archdaily.com/774985/dental-clinic-gaia-atelier-da-costa-atelier-da-costa. Accessed 5 Feb 2018.

Figure Caption:

 Fig. 6. Tiago  Casanova, Photograph of interior hallway of dental clinic by atelierdacosta, 2015, Canidelo, Portugal; "Dental Clinic-Gaia/atelierdacosta," ArchDaily, 10 October, 2015, www.archdaily.com/774985/dental-clinic-gaia-atelier-da-costa-atelier-da-costa. Accessed 5 Feb 2018.

Standard

Reference List

Organization Name. Title. Standard Number, Publisher, Publication Date, Location. Date of Access.

In Text

 (Organization Name, Title)

Example:

International Code Council. 2018 International Code Council Performance Code for Buildings and Facilities. [BS] 501.3.4, International Code Council, 2017, MADCAD. Accessed June 21, 2018

 


Map

Bibliographic Entry:

City of Lubbock, Texas. Row Sectional Map 138: Base Map 39, Block Section E2-5. August 2, 2017. 1:1,200 scale. City of Lubbock, Texas. http://ewebmap.ci.lubbock.tx.us/rowmaps/row%20sm0138.pdf. Accessed 5 Feb 2018.

Figure Caption:

Fig. 7 Map detail showing lots on 31st Street between Aberdeen Ave. and Bangor; City of Lubbock, Texas, Row Sectional Map 138: Base Map 39, Block Section E2-5, August 2, 2017, 1:1,200 scale, City of Lubbock, Texas, http://ewebmap.ci.lubbock.tx.us/rowmaps/row%20sm0138.pdf. Accessed 5 Feb 2018.

Newspaper

Geczi, Michael. "Architect Promises Cityplace will Alter Dallas." Dallas Morning News, 26 October 1983, p. D1.

Archival Materials

City of Lubbock. Water System, 1910-1947. Box 1, Folder 21. S599.2 Lubbock Country Historical Commission Collection. Southwest Collection/Special Collections Library, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, TX. 21 June 2018.

Webpage

The American Institute of Architects. “Innovation Awards.” AIA, 29 Jun. 2018, https://www.aia.org/awards/7406-aia-tap-innovation-awards-program.

Blog

Michael Maltazan Architecture. "Crest Apartments." ArchDaily Projects, ArchDaily. 28 June 2018, https://www.archdaily.com/897050/crest-apartments-michael-maltzan-architecture

Film or Video Recording

My Architect. Directed by Nathaniel Kahn, New Yorker Video, 2004. 

Loading ...

Publication Manual of the APA, 6th Edition (2010)

APA  Style            Haines Photo Co, C. C. (ca. 1909) Panorama of Washington, D.C. Washington D.C, ca. 1909. [Photograph] Retrieved from the Library of Congress.

There are 4 required elements for APA citations:

  • Author of content
  • Publication Date of content
  • Title of content
  • Publication information (book, journal, website, etc.)

Book – One Author

Koolhaas, R. (1994) Delirious New York. New York, N.Y.: Monacellis Press.

 

Book – Edited, no author

Cruickshank, D. (Ed.). (1996). Sir Banister Fletcher’s a history of architecture. Oxford; Boston, M.A.: Architectural Press.

Article Citation (Journal – Print)

Howard, D. (2003). Venice between East and West: Marc’Antonio Barbaro and Palladio’s Church of the Redentore. Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, 62.3.

 

Article Citation (E-Journal)

Howard, D. (2003). Venice between East and West: Marc’Antonio Barbaro and Palladio’s Church of the Redentore.” Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, 62.3 Retrieved from https://www.jstor.org/stable/3592517.

Gather as much information as available from the source, which may include the following:

  • Author (artist, architect, photographer, etc.)
  • Date (Year of Image Creation, n.d. if not available)
  • Title (if no title provided, write a short description)
  • Format (photograph, chart, map, painting, online image, etc)
  • Location/Place of Publication/Museum Location
  • Source information (book, journal, online)
    • Website URL and access date
  • Copyright information (copyright holder and year copyrighted) and permission of use

Images used in your coursework for papers, presentation, and poster should be cited in captions and/or in the reference list. 

Captions should be immediately below the images and contain the following:

  • Figure with the Arabic numerals and figure numbers italicized (example Figure 1.)
  • Descriptive phrase or title of image
  • Any explanation about units of measurement, symbols, terminology, abbreviations
  • If you manipulate the image beyond simple cropping, you must disclose any alternations in the caption.
  • Source information; source may also be cited in the bibliographic references
  • Copyright information if known, necessary if you are going to publish. Example:  Copyright[Year] by the Name of Copyright Holder. Reprinted [or adapted] with permission.
Image in a Book

Figure 1. Abteilberg Museum, Monchengladbach (1972-82) by Hans Hollein. Reproduced from Sir Banister Fletcher's A History of Architecture (19th ed.), J. Musgrove (Ed.), 1987, London: Butterworths, p. 1355A.


Image in a Print Journal

Figure 2. Longitudinal section of Mansilla+Tuñón Institutional Building for Environmental City of Soria, Spain. Reproduced from "Mansilla+Tuñón Institutional Building for Environmental City of Soria," 2008, GA Document, 103, p. 62.


Image in a Database Journal Article

Figure 3Concept diagram of low stiffness DSF connectors with damping mechanism, Reproduced from "Tall Building Motion Control Using Double Skin Facades," by K.S. Moon, 2009, Journal of Architectural Engineering, 15, no. 3, p. 85, fig. 2. doi:10.1061/(ASCE)1076-0431(2009)15:3(84).


Image from ARTSTOR
Caption:   

Figure 4. Architectural drawing of the first floor of the Josephine Baker House from 1928 by Adolf Loos. Reproduced from http://library.artstor.org. Copyright 2014 by Artists Rights Society.

Bibliographic reference:

Loos, A. (Architect). (1928). Josephine Baker House [architectural drawing]. Paris, France. Retrieved from http://library.artstor.org.


Image from TTU Architecture Image Database

Caption:

Figure 5. Pointed dome over the mausoleum from the Complex of Sultan Hassan Mosque built in 1356-1362. Retrieved from http://lib-wiki3.ttu.edu.lib-e2.lib.ttu.edu/wiki/index.php?title=Complex_of_Sultan_Hassan_1A2-EG-C-MSH-A5.jpg. Copyright Scott Gilchrist, Archivision, Inc.

Bibliographic reference: 

Complex of Sultan Hassan Mosque [Photograph]. Retrieved from http://lib-wiki3.ttu.edu.lib-e2.lib.ttu.edu/wiki/index.php?title=Complex_of_Sultan_Hassan_1A2-EG-C-MSH-A5.jpg.


Image from Website

Caption: 

Figure 6. Photograph of interior hallway of dental clinic by Architecture Firm atelierdacosta built in Canidelo, Portugal in 2015 photographed by Tiago Casanova. Reproduced from "Dental Clinic-Gaia/atelierdacosta," 2015, ArchDaily, Retrieved from www.archdaily.com/774985/dental-clinic-gaia-atelier-da-costa-atelier-da-costa

Bibliographic reference:

Casanova, T. (Photographer). (2015). Interior hallway of dental clinic by atelierdacosta in Canidelo, Portugal. Retrieved from www.archdaily.com/774985/dental-clinic-gaia-atelier-da-costa-atelier-da-costa

Standard 

Reference list:

Organization Name. (Year). Title of the standard (Standard #). Retrieved from ________

In text:

(Organization Name, Year).

 

Example

International Code Council. (2017). 2018 International Code Council Performance Code for Buildings and Facilities ([BS] 501.3.4). Retrieved from MADCAD.  


Map

Caption: 

Figure 7.  Map showing lots on 31st Street between Aberdeen Ave. and Bangor, 1:1,200 scale. Adapted from Row Sectional Map 138: Base Map 39, Block Section E2-5, 2017, City of Lubbock, Texas. Retrieved from http://ewebmap.ci.lubbock.tx.us/rowmaps/row%20sm0138.pdf

Bibliographic reference:

City of Lubbock, Texas (Cartographer). (2017). Row Sectional Map 138: Base Map 39, Block Section E2-5 [Map]. Retrieved from http://ewebmap.ci.lubbock.tx.us/rowmaps/row%20sm0138.pdf

Newspaper

Geczi, M. (1983, October 26). Architect promises Cityplace will alter Dallas. Dallas Morning News. Retrieved from Dallas Morning News Historical. 

Archival Materials

City of Lubbock. Water System, 1910-1947. Lubbock Country Historical Commission Collection, Southwest Collection/Special Collections Library, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, TX. 

Webpage

The American Institute of Architects. (n.d.). Innovation Awards. Retrieved from https://www.aia.org/awards/7406-aia-tap-innovation-awards-program.

Blog

Michael Maltazan Architecture. (2018, June 28). Crest Apartments. [Blog post]. Retrieved from https://www.archdaily.com/897050/crest-apartments-michael-maltzan-architecture

Film or Video Recording

Kahn, N. (Director). (2004). My architect [Documentary]. United States: New Yorker Video. 

Loading ...

Citation Basics

Q:  What do you cite? 

A: When quoting, paraphrasing and summarizing information that you located from your research AND any images that you did not create.

Q: When do you cite?  

A: In all your projects and assignments. Examples: papers, posters, presentations, websites. 

 Q:  Why do you cite ?   

 A:  To give credit to the original author, avoid plagiarism, and help your reader locate the source and understand your argument, inspiration, or concept. 

When in DOUBT, do yourself and your professor a favor and cite!

Architecture and Ethics of Image Use

Architecture and Copyright poster thumbnail