HIST 3395 & 4386: Pre- Colonial African History

A Choice Magazine Outstanding Academic Book. Explore the dynamics of precolonial African life in this comprehensive encyclopedia. An authoritative text with state of the art summaries, the Encyclopedia of Precolonial Africa will prove to be a benchmark volume for the field. Moreover, a bibliography for each article guides readers with further research. With more than 100 articles written by leading scholars, extensive maps, photos, and figures, the Encyclopedia of Precolonial Africa is essential reading for all students, professionals, and avocational readers of African archaeology, history, linguistics, and culture.

This 4-vol. set covers its people, its cultures, and its complex history. Intended for students and the general reader, the Encyclopedia provides current and accurate information in more than 1,000 articles on the sub-Saharan region. The articles describe such topics as archaeology family and kinship; government; politics and law; and African arts; cultures; and languages.

Authoritative and Illuminating; This comprehensive set covers the entire expanse of African history as never before. It treats Africa - its geography, art, cultures, peoples, personalities, and even its wildlife - in three volumes, each devoted to a major period in the continent's development. Each volume's in-depth, heavily cross-referenced, and alphabetical entries draw students, researchers, and general readers into the histories of ancient cities, powerful kingdoms, and charismatic leaders, many of whom are little known. Filled with fascinating sidebars, unusual illustrations, and above all wonderful stories, these accessible, attractive, and very readable encyclopedias are authoriative information sources as well as enteratining and illuminating guides to the world's most diverse continent. Ancient Africa; This volume covers the earliest stages of Africa's history, from civilization's beginnings through the Metallic Age, the kingdoms of Egypt and Nubia, Africa's interaction with ancient Greece and Rome, and the rise of Kush and Aksum. African Kingdoms; The focus of tis volume is on the period from approximately 500 through 1500, encompassing the powerful kingdoms of Ghana, Mal

This important new reference covers African and African-American religion in sub-Saharan Africa, North America, South America, and the Caribbean, and provides vital insights into its growing worldwide influence in Europe, Asia and the South Pacific. Entries encompass individuals, concepts, specific religions, religious movements and churches, and include: Akan, Aladura, AzusaStreet Mission, Black theology, candomble, Dominicanvodun, the Harrist movement, Jamaa, Macumba, Mission desNoirs, Mt. Sinai Holy Church, Nuer, Pentecostalism,Pocomania, Santería, Southern Christian LeadershipConference, Unification Church, Yoruba,and many more. Photos, illustrations, and source material round out the package.

The Encyclopedia of African Nations and Civilizations covers the major historic civilizations and the fifty-two nations of Africa in an accessible A-to-Z format. Each nation's entry narrates the history of the region from the early development of its peoples to the political

First published in 2004. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.