The databases listed below are abstract services that help you find information systematically by indexing the published documents in specific disciplines. They use consistent indexing practices, are continuously updated, and are compiled by experts. No one service covers all aspects of any discipline. Often using two or three services produces the best results. Some, like the "Applied Science and Technology Abstracts," are meant as quick introductions to a topic. Others, like "Scopus" attempt to find all relevant materials. Each of these services has its own interface.
The most comprehensive AGI database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 100,000 references a year. The database contains over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
Contains bibliographic citations to United States federal government publications from 1976 to the present. Based on the Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications, GPO contains references to books, reports, studies, serials, maps, and other publications.
Synthesis is an information service for the research, development, and educational communities in engineering and computer science. It combines authoritative content with digital delivery to create a product that is substantially more useful than traditional print or digital publications.
Knovel helps prepare students for future engineering careers in a technology-driven and globally competitive work environment.
Knovel enables engineers to:
Discover essential engineering references
Establish valid information sources and learn about best practices
Gain hands-on experience exploring possible solutions to problems
Use data to test ideas, assess feasibility and determine best course of action
Build experience using a platform leveraged by top engineering firms worldwide